成为InnerSource贡献者(Contributor)的好处

贡献者是InnerSource项目的生命之源。每个InnerSource的项目,都有最终目标,就是超越最初的创始人,扩大他们的组织 和 调动用户之间更进一步合作的潜在性。

然而,是什么促使一个开发人员花时间在非本职工作的项目上?怎样才能激励其领导为他们的开发人员腾出时间来改进不在他们职权范围内的项目?

个人的动力

最明显的激励是吸引早期贡献者加入开源。

还记得你一直在处理的那个讨厌的错误吗?在维护为它们而做的替代解决方案上花费了很多时间和精力?如果不是等待上游团队在将来某个时候修复这个问题,而是你自己去动手修复它呢?在这种“自己抓痒”的情况下,第一次贡献的人通常从修复他们日常工作所依赖的项目中的问题开始,以减少他们自己代码库中的替代方案的数量。

在决定是否创建和贡献一个解决方法而不是维护你自己的替代方案时,请想想这贡献将为你带来的好处。与其孤立地工作,不如和上游项目的人一起,他们不仅可以审查,还可以改进你的解决方案。你将获得支持和指导,这将大大加快你的开发工作。

花更多的时间和他人一起工作,意味着随着时间的推移,你将了解团队如何工作,如何组织,以及以何种方式使用何种工具来构建他们的项目。通常情况下,你自己的项目会从这种经验中获益:在进行并将其引入你自己的项目之前,你能获得实践经验,而不是仅仅阅读一些新资料和构建系统。从事多个核心项目意味着你将接触到更大的生态系统,可以从中汲取最佳实践和解决方案来应对挑战。

在其他团队中花费一些时间的一个好处是,可以将你的声誉和影响力扩大到自己团队以外。因此,除了向他人学习和自我成长外,你还可以影响项目。你可以通过你的贡献,和分享你在项目中的工具化和部署方面的经验和知识,来产生影响力。这种共享可以帮助上游项目改进和加快开发周期。

除了所有这些客观标准外,还有一个很难度量的,这在 InnerSource 和开源项目中都有报道:人们之所以参与这些项目是因为他们发现这些项目的工作很有个人成就感和乐趣。最有可能的是,能够真正自主选择要做的任务,这一点确实很重要。这种自我选择通常也会导致上游项目的人非常欢迎和支持他们的工作,以保持贡献者的积极性。

团队层面的动力

还记得那个最终被上游团队所修复的恼人的bug吗?为什么你的团队要花费额外的精力来为上游项目修复bug呢?

首先,这意味着你的团队和上游项目一起花时间去维护这个项目。对于项目的每一次更新,都是在为你的需求服务。

让团队成员在你的团队中积极贡献,让他们在项目的方向和项目进度上有发言权,这对团队是有益的。

通过使用 InnerSource,团队可以在“独立构建你自己的系统”(包括你的任何数量的新bug)和“通过依赖现有的实现去节省时间和金钱”(以创建只能受到有限影响的长期依赖关系为代价)之间建立一个中间的选择。这个选择平衡了重新实现和重用这两种方式。

公司的动力

还记得有那种公司级别的问题-在公司层面有多个实现的功能吗?如果有一种办法可以避免许多bug的糟糕实现并将它们合并到共享资产中呢?如果这种共享资产的开发过程没有集中的力量来推动? 许多开源项目正在被许多参与者使用——其中一些人参与了他们的设计和开发。在企业层面上鼓励 InnerSource 项目的跨团队协作意味着你可以从组织的边缘推动集中式创新。

总的来说,众所周知, 卡车/巴士系数 bus factor 为一两个人的项目会对企业构成风险——尤其是当该项目最终成为企业目标的核心时。InnerSource 不仅有助于使此类项目透明化,还提供了一些工具,通过将重点放在指导和扩展贡献者基础来改善这种情况。

跨团队协作虽然很难评估个人贡献,但它使组织内的学习和知识贡献成为可能。因此,个人的影响将得到改善。最佳实践和积极创新将更容易在整个组织中传播。副作用是,在组织范围内的工作环境改善能帮助留住员工。

在技术方面,拥有更多具有不同背景的眼睛意味着代码的更改将受到更多的审查,这能提高整体质量和安全性。

最后,为了使项目的用户和客户能够参与开发,可提供一个非常明确的激励,让这些项目更易于开始:基于标准的工具,即易于理解、易于重用、更具模块化和可替换性。

结论

正如文中所述,个人和公司积极参与开源的许多原因也适用于 InnerSource 项目。我们还发现,促使人们在 InnerSource 项目中进行协作的不仅仅是利他主义的原因—— 而且通常很容易看到这样有意义的合作的商业价值。

Contributors

Benefits of becoming an InnerSource Contributor

Contributors are the life blood of InnerSource projects. Every project that is run as an InnerSource project comes both with the promise and with the ultimate goal of expanding their development team beyond the original founders, tapping into the potential of further collaborators amongst users (also sometimes referred to as customers in corporations) of that project.

However, what would motivate an individual developer to spend time on a project that is not under the direction of their manager? What would motivate a manager to make time for their developers to improve projects that are not 100% under their purview?

Individual motivation

The most obvious motivation is what typically draws early contributors into open source as well.

Remember that annoying bug you’ve been working around for so long? The time and energy that maintainting those workarounds costs? What if instead of waiting for the upstream team to fix that issue sometime in the future, you could go ahead and fix it yourself? In this "scratch your own itch" situation first-time contributors often start with fixing issues in projects they depend on for their daily work to reduce the number of workarounds in their own codebase.

When deciding whether to create and contribute a fix instead of maintaining your own workaround, think about the benefit that the contribution will bring to the quality of your own changes. Instead of working in isolation, those working on the upstream project will be able to not only review but also improve your solution. You get support and mentoring which greatly speeds up your own development effort.

Spending more time with others means that over time you will learn how the team works, how it organises itself, which tooling it uses in which way to build their project. Oftentimes your own projects will benefit from that experience: instead of only reading about some new library or build system, you’ll be able to gain practical experience with it before going ahead and introducing it in your own projects. Working on more than one core project means that you will be exposed to a larger ecosystem from which to draw best practices and solutions to challenges.

A nice side effect of being able to spend some of your time in other teams is that your reputation and impact expand the boundaries of your own team. So in addition to learning from others and growing yourself, you get to influence projects. You influence directly via your own contributions and by sharing your experience and knowledge on project tooling and setup. This sharing might help the upstream project improve and accelerate development cycles.

Aside from all of these objective criteria there is a component that is very hard to measure, but has been reported both in InnerSource and in Open Source projects alike: people participate because they find work on those projects personally fulfilling and fun. Most likely, the aspect of being in a position to truly self select tasks to work on does play an important role. This self selection typically also leads to host projects being very welcoming and supportive in their effort to keep contributors motivated.

Team level motivation

Remember that annoying bug that’s been finally fixed upstream? Why should your team spend an extra effort to contribute that fix to the upstream project?

For one, it means that maintenance cost and time is now with the upstream project. For every new release it’s on them instead of on your team to make sure it keeps working with your modifications and requirements.

Having team members work as active contributors in projects your team depends on means that they may get to have a say in the project direction and timelines, which can be beneficial for your team.

By using InnerSource teams can establish a middle path between "be independent and build your own" (including any number of new bugs that you own) and "save time and money by relying on existing implementations" (at the cost of creating long term dependencies which can only be influenced in a limited way). That way balancing reimplementing versus reuse becomes easier.

Company motivation

Remember that functionality that’s specific to your company domain - but that is maintained in multiple implementations across the entire company? What if there were a way to avoid a dozen buggy implementations and merge them into a shared asset? What if the development process for this shared asset ran without the usual drain of energy that central dependencies bring to the table? Many open source projects are being used by a huge number of players - some of who participate in their design and development. Encouraging cross team collaboration in InnerSource projects at the corporate level means that you can drive central innovation from the edges of your organisation.

In general it is well understood that projects with a bus factor of one or two people pose a risk to the organisation - all the more, when that project turns out to be central to the purpose of the business. InnerSource helps not only with making such projects transparent, but also provides tools to improve that situation by putting focus on mentoring and expanding the contributor base.

While cross team collaboration makes assessing individual contributions hard, it also enables learning and knowledge sharing within the organisation. As a result, the impact of individuals will improve. Best practices and positive innovation will spread more easily across the entire organisation. As a side effect, improvements to the work environment will more easily spread across the organization - helping retain employees.

On the technological side having more eyes with a more diverse background implies that code changes will be put under much more scrutiny, leading to better overall quality and security.

Finally, the focus on enabling project users and customers to participate in development provides a very clear incentive to make these projects easy to get started with: based on standard tooling, easy to understand, easy to re-use and as a result more modular and replaceable.

Conclusion

As we’ve seen in this article, many of the reasons for individuals and corporations to get active in Open Source also apply to InnerSource projects. We have also seen that it’s not only altruistic reasons that drive people to collaborate in InnerSource projects - often it’s easy to identify business reasons for when collaboration like this makes a lot of sense.

Contributors