成为一名 InnerSource 贡献者(Contributor )

InnerSource 贡献者在常规的团队边界之外运作,他们是跨越组织性孤岛的纽带。因此,他们需要了解一些使这项工作更有效的常见做法。

分享的心态

你正在为你团队的产品实现一个新功能,你需要一些新功能才能使此功能正常工作。与其直接做,不如慢下来先想一想:这个功能是否反映了一个普遍的问题?在共享的业务领域里,你的组织中的其他团队也会面对这种情况吗?是否与你的需求刚好一致?如果有适用的,那么请在你的团队处理之前找到:是否有可以使用或改进以满足需求的共享的解决方案?应该有吧?

共享解决方案的好处

非洲有句谚语说:“如果你想走得快,就一个人走吧。如果你想走得更远,就一起走。” 软件开发团队也是如此:

如果你想快速行动,独立行动是个好主意。这样做的缺点是重复造轮子。特别是在重新实现核心逻辑时,重复实现将付出比独立行动所带来好处更高的代价。

与其他团队协作可以分担你的开发成本。就像在开源项目中一样,它可以让你的团队构建比你独立完成的更大的东西。

但每个团队都有不同的产品路线图和规划!我以前尝试过使用共享组件——它们的集成时间总是比我重新实现它们所需要的时间长。这些组件总是在某些方面有所欠缺——我的特性请求从来没有在其他团队的路线图上得到优先权!

与传统项目不同,InnerSource 项目有贡献者这个角色。是的,有时你希望这些共享的解决方案有新功能,作为一名贡献者,你可以自由地查看这些组件的源代码,对其进行修改并使用最终的改进版本。

是的,有时候你会迫切需要在按照你的进度要求修复错误,而这个问题在社区维护团队中没有得到相同的优先级。成为一名贡献者你可以自己行动并为团队修复这个错误。

对于许多人来说,这种工作方式需要改变心态:与其等待功能的实现或bug的修复,不如解决问题。现在有了第三种解决方案。花时间和精力与InnerSource项目一起核对您的需求是什么——然后直接在共享项目中进行更改。因此,除了你的编程技能,你还需要沟通技能,才能在一个内源项目中取得成功——清晰地表达你的需求,并找到一个对你的团队和项目团队都有效的解决方案。

“但是,我可以直接生成项目副本(fork),在那里进行更改,并避免所有协调工作!”当然,生成项目副本是完成工作的一种方式。但从长远来看,这意味着你要为你的团队维护这个项目副本——并将你的改动推进到项目维护团队做的任何新版本中。将你的更改贡献给项目团队也意味着你可以从他们对组件的深入了解中获益。他们会在你的补丁中发现问题,以防这些问题在生产中显现出来。

如果具备技术和商业上的合理性,贡献者可以提出需求来复用现有组件而不是重复造轮子。他们可以与经理讨论内部开源协同的好处。

内部资源贡献的范围

那么内部_开源_只是关于_源_代码吗?当然不是。如果你的团队业务依赖于外部组件,你需要确保它得到良好的维护和运行。作为 InnerSource 贡献者,你可以通过多种方式帮助项目维护团队。当你使用组件时发现并报告问题,这是很有价值的贡献。创建或修复测试用例,用来展示哪些不是按照预想方式工作的代码是很有价值的。改进文档也是如此,这样其他人就可以用更少的时间去使用这些项目并为项目做出贡献。支持其他用户,帮助他们进行错误分类也是有价值的贡献。改进构建也是一个很有价值的贡献示例。

总之,贡献无论大小都有着它的价值。这是我为 tensorflow/models 贡献的一个特性,在图中进行了简单的标签更改。

本文小结

通过本文,你了解了如何成为一名贡献者。我们研究了分享的心态,我们深入探讨了共享解决方案的好处,最后,我们研究了 InnerSource 贡献的范围通常是什么样的。

Contributors

Becoming an InnerSource Contributor

InnerSource contributors operate outside of regular team boundaries, they are the links crossing organisational silos. As such, they need to be aware of a few common practices that make this work more effective.

Sharing Mindset

So - you’re implementing a new feature for your team’s product. You need some functionality to get this feature working. Instead of jumping right into the implementation, slow down for a bit: does this functionality reflect a general issue? Is it something that other teams in your organisation face as well due to the shared business domain? Is this functionality orthogonal to the domain of your project? If any of that applies, then start looking beyond your own team: is there a shared solution that you can use or improve to fit your needs? Should there be one?

Benefits to sharing solutions

There is an African proverb stating that “If you want to go fast, go alone. If you want to go far, go together.” The same is true for software development teams:

If you want to move fast, it’s a great idea to break dependencies. The downside to that can be duplicated effort. In particular when reimplementing core logic, there is a very real risk of the cost of duplication outweighing the benefit of independence.

Collaborating with other teams enables you to share development cost. Just like in Open Source projects, it can enable your team to build something bigger than you alone could have accomplished.

But every team has a different roadmap! I’ve tried to use shared components before - they always took longer to integrate than it would have taken me to reimplement them. Those components were always lacking in some aspect or another - and my feature requests never got priority on the roadmap of the other team!

In contrast to a traditional project, InnerSource projects come with the role of a Contributor. Yes, there will be times when you wish that the shared solution had a new feature. As a Contributor, you have the freedom to check out the source code of the component, make modifications to it and use the resulting improved version.

Yes, there will be times when you urgently need a bug fix on your timeline that doesn’t have the same priority in the host team. Becoming a Contributor enables you to act yourself and support the host team with fixing that bug.

This way of working requires a change in mindset for many: instead of waiting for features to be implemented or bugs fixed, instead of working around issues, there’s now a third solution. Spend your time and energy to check back with the InnerSource project on what your needs are - and then make the change directly in the shared project. So in addition to your coding skills, you need communication skills to be successful in an InnerSource project - to clearly articulate your needs and come to a solution that works for both your team and the host team.

"But I could simply go and fork the project, make my changes there and save myself from all this coordination overhead!". Sure - forking the project is a way to get your job done. Except in the long run this means it’s on you to maintain that forked version for your team - and carry your changes forward for any new release the host team makes. Contributing your changes to the host team also means you get to benefit from their deeper knowledge of the component. They may spot issues in your patch that otherwise would only have become obvious in production.

A good Contributor can comfortably make a call for when it makes both technical and business sense to introduce a dependency and reuse a component instead of duplicating work. They can talk to management to explain the benefits of InnerSource contributions.

Scope of InnerSource contributions

So is InnerSource only about SourceCode? Of course not. If your team’s business depends on an outside component, you want to make sure it’s well maintained and well run. As an InnerSource Contributor, you can help the host team in multiple ways. Reporting issues you see when using the component is a valuable contribution. Creating or fixing test cases that show that the code isn’t working as expected is valuable. So is improving documentation, so others spend less time using it and contributing to it. Supporting other users, helping with bug triage can be valuable contributions. Improving builds is another example of a valuable contribution.

To summarize no contribution is too small to contribute. Here is one that I made to tensorflow/models. A simple label change in a graph.

Summary of this article

In this article you learned about what it takes to become a Contributor. We looked at the sharing mindset. We took a deep dive into the benefits of sharing solutions. Finally we had a look at what the scope for InnerSource contributions typically looks like.

Contributors