介绍

InnerSource 的贡献者(Contributor)

你的工作计划是否曾经因为另一个团队没有做完你所依赖的功能而卡住?也许你不得不在项目中做一些额外的工作来补上这些缺失的功能。若能不再受这种问题困扰,那该有多美好呀?

有了 InnerSource 项目,你将永远不必再为等待其他团队交付某些所需功能而困扰了。如果你没有从此项目中获取所需东西,则可以担任 InnerSource 的贡献者,直接在另一个团队的代码库中进行所需的更改。

“贡献者”指为 InnerSource 社区项目代码库做贡献的人,这些人可以将自己视为社区的一部分。而对于大多数贡献者来说,都会经历这一系列过程:从了解社区,到使用社区的产品,再到与社区成员进行交互,最后开始做出贡献。最后,其中一些贡献者会成为 Trusted Committer

与其他角色的关系

作为 InnerSource 社区中的贡献者,你将与 InnerSource 的其他角色(例如 Trusted Committer产品所有者(Product Owner) )进行交互,也可能与其他贡献者进行交互。有时,这些角色可以由同一个人扮演,例如小型基础项目中的“Trusted Committer”和“产品所有者”。

本节为你简要概述了其他两个角色,但我们想鼓励你去阅读 “Trusted Committer”的介绍文章 ,也推荐你在深入研究本节的“贡献者”角色之前阅读 降低准入门槛 一文,你也可以观看视频( 介绍降低准入门槛)而无需阅读文章。

Trusted Committer

Trusted Committer是社区的主人,他们对项目代码把关,审核你贡献的代码,并最快应用到生产环境。他们的职责是指引你如何为社区做贡献,直接帮助你,或者间接提供信息,例如社区审核规范、大规模修改的提案模板,以及文档指引或者与你修改相关的代码片断等。

他们还需要从技术和一般角度来关注产品质量、可持续性和项目发展,减少每个人为做出贡献所遇到的障碍,以及关注整个社区。关注社区包括保持社区健康,提升社区及其参与者的水平,并在组织中公示社区的需求。

产品所有者(Product Owner)

产品所有者(Product Owner)的角色与普通项目的产品所有者角色有些相似,但根据项目的大小会有所不同。此角色通常和Trusted Committer是同一个人,但在大项目或部分通过使用 InnerSource 的贡献来满足需求的团队中,此角色可能与受信任提交者不是同一个人。

你需与产品所有者沟通以确保你的贡献与对通用产品和产品发展路线的相一致。你可与产品所有者一同以确保在合并你贡献是相关的文档或UI / UX时都保持一致。

最后重要的一点,有些原本可能涉及该项目的产品所有者,你需关注他带来的收益和对社区的影响。

如果你想更深入的了解这些其他角色,我们也鼓励你这样做,为此我们准备了有关 Trusted Committer产品所有者(Product Owner) 的单独部分。

概述

在接下来5段文字中,你将详细了解到各方面的介绍。

下一部分将详细介绍怎样的心态和习惯有助于你成为 InnerSource 的贡献者。

在第三部分中,我们将研究贡献者的精神-即行为方面,这些行为方面将为你和团队带来愉快的高产时间,并有可能激发更多的协作。前面的视频提到的“宾至如归”就是一个生动的例子。

第四部分描述了为使你的贡献成功所需做的实际工作——贡献的机制。当你准备贡献时、在开发期间和贡献代码时,我们将提供实用的技巧。

在我们讨论了贡献者角色的个人、交互和技术方面之后,第五部分介绍了努力贡献的好处。我们将从不同的角度展示好处:你的,你的团队的,和整个公司的视角。

最后的部分将回顾我们所学到的关于成为 InnerSource 的贡献者的相关知识。我们将分享如何通过其他在线视频、文章及参与在线 InnerSource 社区来继续学习InnerSource。

Contributors

Introduction

The Contributor in InnerSource

Have you ever been blocked in your next coding task because another team didn’t have time to add a feature in their system that you depend on? Perhaps after a while you even had to do some extra work in your project to work around the missing feature. How nice would it be to never be blocked in this way?

With projects that incorporate InnerSource principles, you’ll never be blocked waiting for another team to deliver some needed feature. If you’re not getting what you need, you can make the change you need directly in the other team’s code repository by acting as an InnerSource Contributor.

The Contributor role describes a person that makes contributions to the repos of an InnerSource community project. This person may or may not be part or see themselves as part of the community. However, for quite a few people there is a sort of journey that contributors can make from just knowing about the community to using the community’s product to interacting with members of the community and finally starting to contribute. Finally, some of them may become Trusted Committers.

Relationship to other roles

As a Contributor in an InnerSource community you will interact with people playing other roles of InnerSource, such as Trusted Committer or Product Owner and possibly with other contributors. At times, these roles can be played by the same person, such as Trusted Committer and Product Owner in small grassroots style projects.

This section gives you a very short overview of the other two roles, but we’d like to encourage you to read the introductory article of the Trusted Committer role, and we recommended you read the Lowering the barriers to entry article, too, before you delve deeper into the details of the Contributor role in this section. You can also watch the videos (introduction, lowering the barriers to entry) instead of reading the articles.

Trusted Committer

A Trusted Committer will be your host for your stay in the hosting community. They are the gatekeepers to the project’s code repository, and will move your contribution closer to production once they accepted it. It is their role to mentor you on your way to contributing to their community. They may help you directly or provide information to enable you to help yourself. This information could be established house rules for reviews, proposal templates for larger changes, pointers to documentation or code sections relevant for your contribution.

They also need to care about product quality, sustainability and project evolution from technical as well as general perspective, about reducing the barrier to making contributions for everyone, as well as about caring for their community in general. Caring for the community involves keeping it healthy, upleveling it and its participants, and advocating its needs in their organization.

Product Owner

The role of the Product Owner has some similarity with the product owner role of your average project. However, there are differences - depending on the size of the project, this role is often filled by the same person that acts as trusted committer. In larger projects, or in teams that only partially use InnerSource as an approach to fill their needs by accepting contributions, this role is likely filled by a person separate from a trusted committer.

Your interaction with the product owner role will likely focus on working out the fit of your contribution into the general product and its roadmap. You might work with the product owner role to make sure that general aspects of documentation, or consistency of UI/UX, are kept upon merging your contribution.

Last but not least, someone acting as product owner might have been involved in bringing the project, its benefits and community to your attention.

If you want to learn in more detail what these other roles are about, and we encourage you to do so, we’ve prepared separate sections about the Trusted Committer and the Product Owner.

Section overview

In the following 5 segments you will learn more in detail about the various aspects introduced here.

The next segment will detail mindset and habit that create opportunities to become an InnerSource Contributor.

In the third segment we’ll look into the ethos of the Contributor - i.e. aspects of behavior that will lead to a pleasant and productive time for you and the host team, and might spark more collaboration. The guest-in-home analogy presented in the introductory videos will serve as a vivid example.

The fourth segment describes the hands-on things to do to make your contribution a success - the mechanics of Contributing. We’ll give practical tips to leverage when preparing to work on a contribution, during development, and also in the pull request.

After we’ve dealt with the personal, the interaction-focused, and the technical aspects of the contributor role, the fifth segment presents the benefits of making the effort to contribute. We’ll show benefits from various perspectives: yours, your team’s, and the perspective of the company at large.

The last segment will recap what we’ve learned about being an InnerSource contributor. We’ll share how you can continue your learning of InnerSource both with other online videos and articles, and through involvement with the online InnerSource community.

Contributors