牵引社区成员

在InnerSource社区中会存在有一个深入参与的过程。期间一定会有不了解这个社区的阶段。首先,新手可能对社区和社区内的产品感兴趣,但尚未使用过它。然后会有使用过产品但没有贡献过的用户。然后是至少做出过一次贡献的 贡献者(Contributor),最后是负责整体软件和社区的Trusted Committer。作为Trusted Committer,您有责任令社区成员沿着这一连续性前进,并提升他们的贡献能力。从这个意义上讲,Trusted Committer在其社区中充当力量倍增器。

对于Trusted Committer而言,产品营销和社区增加新用户和消费者数量非常重要。他们还应该通过与消费者保持交流去引导他们做出贡献,并尝试牵引潜在 贡献者(Contributor)的利益,并使之与社区的利益保持一致。通常,有效的办法是,让 贡献者(Contributor)参与贡献的是有益于其部门或公司角色的工作。开发工具和自动化就是很好的例子。

最后,Trusted Committer有责任在鼓励大家完成挑战性任务、指导他们完成工作的过程中,来识别和支持有成长潜力的贡献者。我们认为,这是Trusted Committer的最高责任,对于Trusted Committer和 贡献者(Contributor)来说都是非常有价值的。我们听过一些Trusted Committer说,指导和推动人们去提升自己的能力,比花时间在编写软件上更重要。

上一章节所述,学习和个人成长是人们加入并坚持留在InnerSource社区的原因。而提升 贡献者(Contributor)的质量和数量是让他们留下的最有效方式之一,Trusted Committer可以使用它们来提高其社区的发展速度、产出和寿命。这也是说服管理层让其员工参与InnerSource社区的主要论据之一,因为这将使他们的员工对公司整体更有价值,并帮助他们保留顶尖人才。

总而言之,Trusted Committer需要吸引新的 贡献者(Contributor),并提高其贡献能力。这可以让社区更快更好地产出。Trusted Committer通过交流做出贡献,以及帮助 贡献者(Contributor)成长来实现这一点。

Contributors

Upleveling Community Members

There is a continuum of participation in an InnerSource community. There are people who are not aware of the community. Newcomers might be interested in the community and its product, but have not yet used it. Consumers use the software but may not have made a contribution. Then there are the Contributors who have made at least one contribution, and finally the Trusted Committers, who are taking responsibility for both the software and the community. As a Trusted Committer, you are responsible for moving individuals along this continuum and upleveling their ability to make contributions. In this sense, Trusted Committers act as force multipliers in their community.

It is important for Trusted Committers to market their product and communities to increase the number of newcomers and consumers. They should also communicate opportunities to make contributions to consumers and try to elicit and align the interests of potential Contributors with that of the community. What often works well is if Contributors are able to work on something that benefits their department or role in the company. Development tools and automation are good examples.

Finally, it is the Trusted Committer’s responsibility to identify and support Contributors with the potential to grow by encouraging them to tackle challenging tasks and mentor them towards completion. This is, in our opinion, a Trusted Committer’s noblest responsibility, and it is rewarding for both Trusted Committer and contributor. We’ve heard Trusted Committers say that mentoring and seeing people level up their abilities more than makes up for the fact that they have less time to actually spend writing software.

As mentioned in the previous section, learning and personal growth are reasons people join and stick around in an InnerSource community. Upleveling their Contributors is one of the most powerful tools Trusted Committers have at their disposal to increase the speed, output and longevity of their communities. It is also one of the key arguments with which to convince management to allow their employees to participate in an InnerSource community, as that will make their employees more valuable to the company overall and help them retain top talent.

In summary, Trusted Committers need to attract new Contributors and level up their ability to make contributions. This activity ultimately levels up the community’s ability to create better software faster. They do so by communicating opportunities to make contributions and by helping and mentoring Contributors enabling them to grow.

Contributors