倡导社区需求

InnerSource社区存在于公司内部协作的环境中,因此比开放源社区更受限制。有时,人们业务部门的利益与社区的利益并不一致。Trusted Committer对项目应有长远的安排和打算,他们了解健康的社区是健康代码的前提。这就是为什么许多InnerSource初始团队都以Apache Way的座右铭 Community over code. 为指引的原因。另一方面,业务部门也会自然地关注InnerSource社区生产的产品。他们希望看到在短期或中期内,这能帮助企业提高利润。

在此潜在的冲突中,Trusted Committer将发挥至关重要的作用。Trusted Committer与组织建立了信任,并在此信任的基础上,倡导维护社区利益和保持公司软件的长期健康。他们负责传达技术风险以及与社区有关的管理风险。同时,Trusted Committer需要具有战略视角,并在其公司的容忍度、自由度内工作。

Trusted Committer还需要确保社区和个人贡献者的工作获得公众认可。公共信誉是用来支付贡献者,特别是自愿贡献者的货币。好的办法是公开表彰有价值的贡献者,并确保他的领导了解他们的贡献。忽视给予信誉可能会使个人贡献者感到沮丧,并损害社区的健康。这可能发生在尚未习惯InnerSource工作模式的公司中,或者当InnerSource社区开发的软件在后台运行,但管理人员根本不了解社区的贡献时。一个好的Trusted Committer将与管理层合作并倡导为公共信誉做贡献。不是出于恶意的抹杀贡献错误是很容易修复的。

另一个需要Trusted Committer去重视的常见情况是,没有给 贡献者(Contributor)足够的时间或权限。当社区正在贡献者部门以外的产品上工作,因此与他们的工作目标无关时,就会发生这种情况。在这种情况下,Trusted Committer应与 贡献者(Contributor)的工作领导进行沟通,并寻找相应的替代方案。

总之,在许多情况下,Trusted Committer需要平衡个人贡献者和整个社区的利益。Trusted Committer应该清楚认识到,社区可以为组织提供的价值取决于社区的健康和长期发展以及社区与组织之间的相互信赖关系。

Contributors

Advocating for the Community’s Needs

InnerSource communities exist in a corporate context and are thus more constrained than Open Source communities. Sometimes the business unit’s interests are at odds with those of the community. Trusted Committers take a long term perspective on their project. They understand that a healthy community is a precondition for healthy code. This is why many InnerSource initiatives were modeled in the Apache Way with its "Community over Code" motto. Business units, on the other hand, are naturally more concerned with the products produced by an InnerSource community. They prefer to see short to medium-term results that help the bottom line.

It is in this potential area of conflict where the Trusted Committer plays a vital role. Trusted Committers build trust with the organization and, building on that trust, act as advocates for the interests of the community and the long term health of the software in the company. They are responsible for communicating technical, as well as community-related, risks to management. At the same time, Trusted Committers need to be strategic and work within the degrees of freedom afforded by their companies.

Trusted Committers also need to make sure that the community and individual contributors get public credit for their work. Public credit is the currency with which contributors are being paid, especially those who contribute voluntarily. It is a good practice to commend valuable contributors publicly and to make sure their managers are aware of their contributions. Neglecting to give credit can be frustrating for individual contributors and detrimental to the health of the community. This can happen in companies not yet accustomed to the InnerSource working model, or when the software being developed by the InnerSource community runs behind the scenes and managers were simply not aware of the community’s contribution. A good Trusted Committer will engage with management and advocate for public credit. Failure to give credit is almost never done in bad faith and is easy to fix.

Another common case calling for the Trusted Committer’s advocacy is when contributors are not given time or permission to contribute. This can happen when the community is working on a product outside of the contributor’s department and thus not relevant for their manager’s goals. In this case, the Trusted Committer should engage in discussion with the contributor’s manager and lobby for an alternative decision.

In summary, there are many situations in which Trusted Committers need to advocate for the interests of individual contributors and for the community as a whole. Trusted Committers understand that the value the community can provide to the organization depends on the health and longevity of the community and ultimately on a trustworthy relationship between both.

Contributors