介绍

Trusted Committer

Trusted Committer角色是InnerSource社区中的关键角色之一。将Trusted Committer视为你所在的社区中所信任的对象,他们可以通过重要的技术决策和指导贡献者来最终获得收益。我们对Trusted Committer的要求很高,同时这个岗位也会得到很高的回报。这个角色并不是一个自以为是的把关者,甚至他对任何InnerSource社区的成功都至关重要。

一般而言,Trusted Committer角色是由其职责而不是其特权定义的。在很高程度上 Trusted Committer 代表其InnerSource社区和该社区正在开发的产品的利益。他们关心社区和产品的健康。因此,作为Trusted Committer,您将同时承担面向技术和社区的责任。我们将在以下各章节中探讨这两个方面。

在详细介绍Trusted Committer实际功能之前,让我们花一些时间从高度抽象的角度将Trusted Committer角色与InnerSource中的其他角色进行对比,并解释为什么我们认为该名称既恰当又重要。让我们从 贡献者(Contributor)角色开始。顾名思义, 贡献者(Contributor)为InnerSource社区做出了贡献。这些贡献可能是代码或非代码工件,例如错误报告,功能请求或文档。

贡献者(Contributor)可能是社区的一部分,也可能不是。他们可能是由其他团队过来一些开发团队所需功能的。这就是为什么我们有时也将 贡献者(Contributor)称为“调用者”或“调用团队”的一部分。 贡献者(Contributor)负责遵循并符合社区的要求。

Trusted Committer始终是InnerSource社区的成员,该社区有时也称为维护团队。我们用比喻来形容一下,Trusted Committer既负责建造房屋,也负责制定房屋规则,以确保其客人感到舒适,并可以进行有效的合作。与 贡献者(Contributor)相比,Trusted Committer已经承担了将代码推向生产的责任,并且通常被允许执行更高风险的任务。

产品所有者(Product Owner)是InnerSource中的第三个角色。与敏捷过程类似,产品负责人负责定义和优先考虑社区要实施的需求和故事。 产品负责人经常与Trusted Committer进行交互(例如,确保所请求或提供的功能实际上属于该产品)。特别是在较小的草根InnerSource社区中,Trusted Committer通常还充当产品负责人。查看我们的 产品负责人学习方法(Product Owner Learning Path segment),以获取更多详细信息。

为什么角色名称很重要?

每个成功的InnerSource社区中都存在Trusted Committer,但并非每个社区都使用该名称。一些社区使用术语“维护者”,但是该术语与其他技术角色(例如,GitHub定义的“维护者”角色)相冲突。 Apache也使用Committer一词,但是他们对该角色附加的责任很少,而且大多是面向技术的责任。由于承担着其他面向社区的职责,Trusted Committer的责任已不止于此。Trusted Committer中的“Trusted ”表示此人是受到信任的,因此可以由其管理层和社区授权来完成工作。通过促进开放性和透明度,Trusted Committer可以在流程以及所构建的产品中建立信任。

类似于命名在编写软件中的重要性一样,为角色选择正确的名称并持续进行贯彻,可确保每个人对社区中此角色都有相同的理解。

现在,您已经对角色有了基本的了解,为什么使用名称“Trusted Committer”,并且知道“Trusted Committer”如何与软件项目中的其他常见角色进行交互,让我们快速了解一下“Trusted Committer”的职责。

职责范围

Trusted Committer负有各种责任,包括:

Contributors

Introducing the Trusted Committer Role

The Trusted Committer (TC) role is one of the key roles in an InnerSource community. Think of Trusted Committers as the people in a community that you trust with important technical decisions and with mentoring contributors to ultimately get contributions over the finish line. The Trusted Committer role is both demanding and rewarding. It is more than just being an opinionated gatekeeper and is instrumental for the success of any InnerSource community.

Generally speaking, the Trusted Committer role is defined by its responsibilities, rather than by its privileges. On a very high level, Trusted Committers represent the interests of both their InnerSource community and the products the community is building. They are concerned with the health of both the community and the product. So as a Trusted Committer, you’ll have both tech- and community-oriented responsibilities. We’ll explore both of these dimensions in the following sections.

Before we go into the details of what a Trusted Committer actually does, let’s spend some time contrasting the Trusted Committer role with other roles in InnerSource at a high level of abstraction and explain why we think the name is both apt and important. Let’s start with the Contributor role. A Contributor — as the name implies—makes contributions to an InnerSource community. These contributions could be code or non-code artifacts, such as bug reports, feature requests, or documentation.

Contributors may or may not be part of the community. They might be sent by another team to develop a feature the team needs. This is why we sometimes also refer to Contributors as Guests or as part of a Guest Team. The Contributor is responsible for "fitting in" and for conforming to the community’s expectations and processes.

The Trusted Committer is always a member of the InnerSource community, which is also sometimes referred to as the Host Team. In this analogy, the Trusted Committer is responsible for both building the house and setting the house rules to ensure their guests are comfortable and can work together effectively. Compared to contributors, Trusted Committers have earned the responsibility to push code closer to production and are generally allowed to perform tasks that have a higher level of risk associated with them.

The Product Owner (PO) is the third role in InnerSource. Similar to agile processes, the PO is responsible for defining and prioritizing requirements and stories for the community to implement. The PO interacts often with the Trusted Committer, (e.g., in making sure that a requested or contributed feature actually belongs to the product). Especially in smaller, grassroots InnerSource communities, the Trusted Committer usually also acts as a PO. Check out our Product Owner Learning Path segment for more detailed information.

Why Role Names Matter

The role of the Trusted Committer is present in every successful InnerSource community but not every community uses that name. Some communities use the term Maintainer, but this term conflicts with other technical roles such as the "Maintainer" role defined by GitHub, for instance. Apache uses the term Committer, too, but they attach fewer and mostly tech-oriented responsibilities to that role. With its additional community-oriented responsibilities, the Trusted Committer role goes beyond that. The "Trusted" in Trusted Committer means this person is trusted and thus empowered by both their management and their community to do their job. By fostering openness and transparency, Trusted Committers build trust in the process and also in the product being built.

Similar to how naming is important in writing software, choosing the right names for roles and doing so consistently ensures that everyone has the same understanding about the roles played in the community.

Now that you have a basic understanding of the role, why using the term Trusted Committer is appropriate, and know how a Trusted Committer might interact with other common roles in a software project, let’s take a quick look at the responsibilities of a Trusted Committer.

Responsibilities

Trusted Committers have various responsibilities, including:

We will look at these responsibilities in more depth in the following pages and also explore the path of becoming a Trusted Committer at the end of this article.

Contributors